NTSE Stages

NTSE is conducted in two stages, Stage-1 and Stage-2, the details of which are mentioned below.

NTSE Stage-1
NTSE Stage-2

At both Stage I & Stage – II (State & National Level), only candidates qualifying in both the papers separately will be considered for merit. Selection of the awardees will be made on the basis of total Marks scored in MAT & SAT based on merit. There will be No Negative Marking in Stage II Examination.

Exam Pattern

The question paper is divided into two sections – Mental Ability Test (MAT) and Scholastic Aptitude Tests (SAT).


MAT: The questions in this section are designed to judge the ability to think, power of reasoning, ability to judge, evaluate, visualize in space, etc. Questions are asked from series, analogies, pattern perception, classification, coding-decoding, problem solving, hidden figures, block assembly, etc.


SAT: The questions in this section is further divided into Science, Mathematics and Social Sciences.

Note: SAT and MAT questions are asked in both NTSE Stage-1 and Stage-2.

Section Questions Marks Time
Mental Ability Test (MAT) 100 100 120 minutes
Scholastic Aptitude Tests(SAT) 100 100 120 Minutes
Total 200 200 4 Hours