NEET exam also referred to as the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test, organized by the NTA (National Testing Agency) is to be held on 17th July 2022. This national-level exam is conducted by the agency for admission in MBBS, AYUSH, veterinary and nursing courses. The exam is a gateway for all medical aspirants to get their heads into top medical colleges in India. Candidates seeking admission in AYUSH, BDS, or Nursing courses have to sit for the exam too.

NEET Exam Pattern was released by the NTA in the official information bulletin at the official website. As per the NEET pattern, there will be 200 questions in the paper with internal choice in section B of each subject. Students will have to attempt 180 questions out of the NEET total questions. Students will be given a choice to attempt 45 questions out of the 50 asked in each NEET subject- Zoology, Botany, Chemistry, and Physics as per NEET exam pattern 2022. 

Who is eligible for NEET?

Citizens of India, Non-resident Indians (NRIs), Persons of Indian Origin (PIOs), Overseas Citizens of India (OCIs), and foreign nationals are eligible to appear for NEET exam. Aspirants who fulfill the below-mentioned eligibility criteria of NEET and complete the application process within the stipulated date will be eligible for appearing for the medical entrance examination. Aspirants must note that, if they want to study medicine UG then they have to appear and qualify the NEET. Aspirants who wish to study medicine abroad but wish to come back to India for practice NEET are now mandatory for them also.

NEET Qualification by NTA
Parameters Details
Qualifying Exam for NEET
  • Candidates must have passed 10+2 or equivalent with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology and English as core subjects from a recognized board.
  • Class 12 or equivalent appearing aspirants are also eligible to apply for NEET.
Minimum Age Requirement for NEET Candidates must have completed 17 years as on December 31, 2022.
NEET Maximum Age Limit* The decision on the upper age limit is pending, so, all candidates are provisionally eligible to apply for NEET.
Qualifying Marks for NEET The class 12 percentage required for NEET exam is separate for each category and can be listed as under. NEET eligibility marks in class 12 to be considered are aggregate marks only for PCB subjects
  • UR - 50%,
  • OBC/SC/ST - 40%,
  • PWD - 45%
Maximum Number of Attempts for NEET There are no restrictions on the maximum NEET attempt limit.
Nationality Indian Nationals, NRIs, OCIs, PIOs & Foreign Nationals aspirants are eligible to apply
NEET Eligibility Criteria - Age Limit

The main concern of every aspirant regarding the NEET eligibility criteria 2022 is the age limit for appearing for the medical entrance test. Candidates must have completed 17 years of age either at the time of admission or else on or before December 31, 2022, as per the NEET 2022 eligibility criteria. The decision over the upper age limit for NEET exam eligibility has been challenged in the Supreme Court. Despite pending the court’s judgment, candidates are allowed to appear for the exam and admissions.

Qualifying Marks for NEET
    1. Candidates have to be qualified in Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology, and English individually in the qualifying examination which is 10+2 or equivalent, as per NEET 2022 eligibility criteria.
    2. Candidates belonging from the Unreserved category must have scored a minimum required percentage of 50% marks in Physics, Chemistry, and Biology/Biotechnology in their Class 12 or HSC examination.
    3. Scheduled Caste/Scheduled Tribes or Other Backward Classes (OBC) candidates should have scored 40% of passing marks in Class 12 in Physics, Chemistry and Biology/Biotechnology in aggregate in the qualifying examination.
    4. Medical aspirants with locomotor disability of lower limbs must have secured a minimum of 45% marks for General-PH and 40% marks for SC-PH/ST-PH/OBC-PH in aggregate in Physics, Chemistry and Biology/Biotechnology.
NEET Eligibility Criteria - Minimum Required Percentage
Category Aggregate marks required for NEET
Unreserved 50%
SC/ST/OBC/Reserved-PH 40%
Unreserved- PH 45%
NEET eligibility criteria for NRI/Foreign students

Candidates who have completed their education from outside the country must fulfill the NEET eligibility criteria. The last examination which has to pass by NRI/Foreign students should be equivalent to Class 12 qualification in their respective country. Candidates should have studied Physics, Chemistry, and Biology and must have passed the theory and practical test in each of these subjects as well as English in the qualifying examination.

NEET Eligibility Criteria – Number of Attempts

With amendments in 2018 for NEET eligibility criteria, the restriction on the number of attempts for NEET was removed. Therefore there is no restriction on the number of attempts for NEET. So, as per the NEET eligibility criteria, candidates will be allowed to appear for the entrance exam as many times as they would like to only if they are eligible.

NEET Eligibility Criteria - 15% All India Quota seats/Deemed Universities/Central Universities/ESIC and AFMC Colleges
    1. Aspirants who qualify for NEET exam can apply for the 15% All India Quota seats, 100% of the seats in Deemed universities as well as Central Universities, ESIC, and AFMC as well. This counselling for NEET will be conducted at an All India level by MCI.
    2. J&K candidates are not eligible for 15% All India Quota seats unless they have filled a self-declaration form to be submitted along with the NEET application form. The self-declaration for NEET application form denotes that the candidate wishes to participate in the counselling for 15% All India Quota seats and would forgo the home state counselling in return. As per the NEET eligibility criteria, such candidates will be eligible for the seats of Deemed Universities, ESIC, and AFMC colleges.
    3. The allotment for 85% seats of DU will be open to candidates who have completed Class 10 and 12 from Delhi while the Institutional Quota seats of AMU will be exclusively for AMU students only.
NEET Eligibility Criteria - 85% State Quota seats

The 85% state quota seats mean seats in all government colleges of the states/union territories respectively. Counselling for such seats will be conducted by the respective state authorities. To apply for state quota seats, candidates must fulfill the NEET eligibility criteria laid down by each state or union territory authority and include domicile, conditions too.